So today is the first day of my challenge. I’m feeling quite good about it at the minute, not sure how that will change throughout the week though! 

Breakfast – 10.15am:

  • 50g porridge = 4p
  • 1/2 pint tap water = free
  • 1/3 banana = 4p
  • TOTAL = 8p

I usually always make porridge with milk, or half milk half water, but today I had to make it all with water. I am going to be honest, I couldn’t finish it. Towards the end the taste of water was just too much and I started feeling sick. 1/3 of a banana doesn’t really mask the taste that much. Already I have realised just how lucky we are to be able to afford milk! (I’ve cut the rest of the banana up and frozen it, to take out as & when during the week).


Lunch – 1.50pm:

  •  2 slices brown bread = 4p
  • 10g cheese spread = 4p
  • TOTAL = 8p

Today’s lunch wasn’t too bad. It’s something like what I’d normally have anyway. Except I’d be using more expensive cheese spread! Hasn’t really filled me up though and I could do with a bag of crisps or something!


Just worked out the cost of meals throughout the week though, and I can fit snacks into my daily budget, from the food which I’ve bought within my £5 – for example a piece of chicken, or a slice of toast, either with cheese spread or dry – I need to make the spread last throughout the week!

Snack – 4.40pm
  • 1 slice brown bread = 2p
  • TOTAL = 2p

I had to have something to eat, I had a headache coming on and felt so hungry! So just a slice of bread it was, to keep me going until dinner. 

Dinner – 7.15pm
  • 1/2 tin tomatoes = 16p
  • 100g pasta =  6p
  • 2 chicken portions = 34p
  • dash of pepper = 1p
  • TOTAL = 57p

I was so much looking forward to this, and it was yummy! I’m so glad I bought pepper in my budget, as it gave it a bit of flavour, which I needed!


TOTAL for the day = 75p

All in all, I haven’t found today as hard as I expected it to be! I am looking forward to dinner tomorrow though! 

If you would like to sponsor me, you can do so here.


I'm Stacey, in my (very) early 30's, from a small village in North Lincolnshire. I'm a stay at home mum to two boys and a mental dog. You'll find me blogging mainly about food & lifestyle with a bit of random thrown in.

You may also like...

Leave a reply, I'd love to hear what you think! (If using your name and email you may want to take a look at my updated privacy policy to see how I use your information.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: